FOR LICENSED DISPENSARIES
Cannabis security system: dispensary security system requirements, dispensary security cameras and cost by state
The short answer
A cannabis security system is the camera, alarm and access-control package your state requires before it will license a dispensary, and the rules are specific: continuous recording at a set resolution and frame rate, footage kept for a set number of days, and in some states an alarm monitored by a licensed third party. The number that moves the bill most is the retention period, which runs from 30 days in Colorado, Michigan, Nevada, Arizona and New Jersey to 90 days in California, Massachusetts, Illinois, Oregon and Maryland and 180 days in Pennsylvania. Vendors put a full dispensary install at roughly $10,000 to $50,000. Dispensaries is a directory, not a security company. A claimed, license-verified listing is $99 a month.
Listed from $99/mo · license verified · cancel anytime · we never sell or ship
This is what buyers see when they search your area
Press Find dispensaries to see licensed shops near .
Searching licensed dispensaries near ...
example listings ·
Sorted by distance
Not medical advice · 21+ · check your local laws
These shops, ratings, prices and deals are examples that show how a listing looks.
30 to 180
Days of footage a state requires you to keep, Colorado to Pennsylvania
6x
How much more storage a 180-day state needs than a 30-day state, same cameras
$10k to $50k
Typical install range quoted by dispensary software vendors
Every guide to dispensary security opens with a list of things you need: cameras, alarms, a safe, access control. That list is the same in every state and it is not the hard part. The hard part is that each state writes its own numbers into the rule, and those numbers decide what a compliant system costs. A store that is fully compliant in Denver can fail inspection in Sacramento with the same hardware, simply because California wants three times as much footage kept.
This page puts those numbers side by side. The table below was built by reading each state's own regulation rather than a vendor summary, and it shows the retention period, the resolution and frame-rate floor, and whether the alarm has to be professionally monitored. Then we turn those numbers into what they cost, because a 180-day retention rule and a 30-day one are not the same purchase even if the cameras are identical.
Why it works
What to settle before you sign a security quote
Price the retention, not the cameras
Cameras are a one-time line and roughly the same everywhere. Storage scales with the number of days your state makes you keep, so the same 16 cameras need six times the disk in Pennsylvania that they need in Colorado. Ask every installer to show the storage math for your state in writing.
Match the resolution floor per camera
Some states set one number for the whole store. Nevada sets 1920 by 1080 at entrances, exits, the vault and every point of sale and allows lower resolution elsewhere. Missouri wants 1920 by 1080 everywhere. Buying to the wrong floor means replacing cameras after the inspection instead of before it.
Check whether motion recording is allowed
Motion-triggered recording saves a lot of storage, and several states permit it outside operating hours. Missouri prohibits it wherever product is present. California requires continuous recording. If your quote assumes motion recording, confirm your state allows it in every room.
Know who has to monitor the alarm
California requires a licensed alarm company operator. New York requires a third-party central station. Pennsylvania requires professional monitoring. Missouri and Nevada require automatic notification of law enforcement instead. Each version is a different monthly contract.
Separate the one-time and monthly lines
An install is a capital purchase. Monitoring, cloud storage and service agreements are monthly and they run for the life of the license. Compare quotes on a three-year total or you will pick the cheapest install and the most expensive contract.
Where we fit, stated plainly
We do not sell cameras, alarms or monitoring. Dispensaries is a directory of state-licensed shops. A claimed listing is $99 a month, flat, and it brings shoppers to a store that is already secure and compliant.
How it works
Four steps, in the order that actually pays
Read your state rule before you call an installer
Get the retention period, the resolution and frame-rate floor, and the alarm monitoring requirement from the regulation itself. Every figure in the table below has a citation you can open, and the state rule wins over any vendor summary, including ours.
Draw the camera plan against the rule
Points of sale, the vault, every entrance and exit, and any room where product is stored or handled. A 1,500 square foot store commonly lands at 16 to 20 cameras. Count them before you get quotes so every installer is pricing the same plan.
Size the storage for your retention period
Multiply cameras by bitrate by days. At a modest 2 megabits per second, 16 cameras recording continuously for 90 days need about 31 terabytes. At 30 days it is about 10. This one line is where quotes diverge most.
Get three quotes with the same scope in writing
Install, storage, monitoring, service and the replacement cost of a failed recorder. Then submit the plan with your license application, because most states want the security plan approved before you open.
The numbers
Dispensary security system requirements by state, from each state's own regulation
| State and rule | Footage kept | Camera floor | Alarm monitoring |
|---|---|---|---|
| California, 4 CCR 15044 and 15047 | 90 days | 1280 x 720, 15 frames per second, continuous | Installed, monitored and responded to by a licensed alarm company operator |
| Colorado, 1 CCR 212-3 Rules 3-220 and 3-225 | 30 days | Resolution rule repealed; motion recording allowed if adequate | Premises continuously monitored; outside company optional. Two-hour battery backup |
| Michigan, R 420.209 | 30 days | 720p; motion recording allowed | Alarm system required; third party not specified. A rule overhaul was in review in 2026 |
| Massachusetts, 935 CMR 500.110 | 90 days | Not specified by number; 24-hour recording | Perimeter and duress alarm tied to police, plus a backup alarm from a different company |
| Illinois, 68 Ill. Adm. Code 1291.300 | 90 days | 8 frames per second, live web portal for regulators | Installed by a licensed alarm contractor; vault alarm to a central station or police |
| Oregon, OAR 845-025-1450 | 90 days | 1280 x 720, 10 frames per second | Real-time off-site backup of the surveillance room, kept 30 days |
| Washington, WAC 314-55-083 | 45 days | 640 x 470, 10 frames per second | Perimeter alarm; monitoring not specified |
| Nevada, NCCR 6.085 | 30 days | 1920 x 1080 at entrances, exits, vault and point of sale; 720 x 480 elsewhere; 15 fps | Automatic notification of law enforcement on a breach |
| Arizona, R9-18-312 | 30 days | 704 x 480 | Intrusion alarm and failure alert; monitoring not specified |
| New Jersey, N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.10 | 30 days | Not specified; operating at all times | Automatic alert to staff and police; monitoring may be off-site |
| New York, 9 NYCRR 125.3 | 60 days | Not specified; continuous in operating hours | Perimeter alarm reporting to a third-party commercial central station |
| Missouri, 19 CSR 100-1.090 | 60 days | 1920 x 1080, 15 fps; no motion recording where product is present | Automatic police notification and silent alarms at each point of sale |
| Ohio, OAC 1301:18-8-05 | 45 days | 15 fps; stills at 600 x 600 dpi | Silent alarm to security staff and police; real-time regulator access |
| Maryland, COMAR 14.17.12.02 | 90 days | High resolution, no number; 24 hours a day | Alarm continuously monitored |
| Pennsylvania (medical), 28 Pa. Code 1161a.31 | 180 days | Facial detail required, no number; 24/7 | Professionally monitored alarm |
| Florida (medical), s. 381.986 F.S. | 45 days | Not specified; 24 hours | Duress, panic and hold-up alarms |
Read from each state's regulation text in September 2026 (Cornell LII reproductions of the official codes where the regulator's own site would not load). Ohio's older medical rule, 3796:6-3-16, set six months at 30 frames per second; the Division of Cannabis Control rule effective October 31, 2024 sets 45 days, so confirm which applies to your license. Oklahoma's rules set no camera or retention figures at all. Rules change: treat this as a map and your regulator as the authority.
Swipe to see more →
How much does a dispensary security system cost?
Dispensary software vendors publish install ranges of roughly $10,000 to $50,000 for a complete security system, which covers cameras, recorders, the alarm, access control and reinforced doors. IndicaOnline puts comprehensive installations at $10,000 to $50,000 and Cova describes an expected cost of around $50,000. Both are POS vendors writing buying guides rather than installers quoting jobs, so treat the range as a sanity check on your quotes rather than a price.
The monthly side is where operators get surprised, and it splits into two contracts. Alarm monitoring from a central station is cheap: Alarm Grid, a monitoring company, lists plans at $15, $25, $35 and $45 a month. Video storage is not, and the reason is the retention period. Consumer-style cloud camera plans look inexpensive until you read what they include. Videoloft advertises 24/7 cloud recording from $5.99 per camera per month, and that price buys two days of footage. No state on our table accepts two days.
So the honest answer is that the install is predictable and the storage is not. Get every quote to show the storage it proposes, in terabytes or in days per camera, and check it against your state's number before you compare prices. A quote that is cheaper because it quietly assumes a shorter retention period is not cheaper. It is non-compliant.
- One-time: cameras, recorder or server, alarm panel, access control, reinforced doors, a safe or vault, installation labor.
- Monthly: alarm monitoring, cloud or off-site video storage where you use it, service contract, and in some stores a guard.
- Hidden: replacement drives, a battery backup for the recorder, and the cost of re-running cable when the state changes a rule.
How long do dispensaries have to keep security footage?
Between 30 and 180 days, depending on the state. Colorado, Michigan, Nevada, Arizona and New Jersey require 30 days. Washington, Ohio and Florida require 45. New York and Missouri require 60. California, Massachusetts, Illinois, Oregon and Maryland require 90. Pennsylvania's medical program requires 180, the longest on our list, and Oklahoma sets no figure at all.
The spread matters more than any single number, because storage scales in a straight line with days. A 16-camera store recording continuously at a modest 2 megabits per second writes about 346 gigabytes a day. Keeping 30 days of that takes roughly 10 terabytes. Keeping 90 takes about 31. Keeping 180 takes about 62. Double the bitrate for sharper cameras and every figure doubles with it. That is the whole reason two quotes for the same camera count can be thousands of dollars apart.
Most states also expect you to keep footage longer when it relates to an incident, an investigation or a regulator's request, so the retention period is a floor rather than a target. Build some headroom into the storage instead of sizing it exactly to the minimum.
What are the camera requirements for a dispensary?
Where a state sets numbers, they are resolution and frame rate. California requires at least 1280 by 720 pixels at 15 frames per second. Missouri requires 1920 by 1080 at 15 frames per second. Nevada splits the building, asking for 1920 by 1080 at entrances, exits, the vault and every point of sale and 720 by 480 elsewhere. Oregon wants 1280 by 720 at 10 frames per second. Illinois sets 8 frames per second and requires a live web portal the regulator can open.
Coverage rules are more consistent than the numbers. Every point of sale, every entrance and exit, the vault or safe room, and every room where product is stored, handled, destroyed or received needs a camera, and the image has to be good enough to identify a face and a transaction. Several states also want the recording equipment itself locked away in a secured room, with access logged.
On count, a standard 1,500 square foot dispensary commonly lands at 16 to 20 cameras and larger or multi-floor stores at 24 to 32, per camera placement guides from installers. Sketch your own floor plan against your state's coverage list before any installer walks the space, so you can tell a padded quote from a thin one.
Do dispensaries need a monitored alarm system?
Every state on our list requires an alarm. Whether a third party has to watch it is a separate question and states answer it differently. California requires the alarm to be installed, monitored and responded to by a licensed alarm company operator. New York requires the perimeter alarm to report to a third-party commercial central station. Pennsylvania requires professional monitoring and Maryland requires continuous monitoring.
Other states take a different route. Missouri and Nevada require the system to notify law enforcement automatically when there is a breach, and Missouri adds silent alarms at every point of sale. Massachusetts asks for a duress alarm tied to police and, unusually, a backup alarm system from a different company than the primary one. Colorado requires continuous monitoring but leaves the choice of an outside company to you.
Budget for monitoring even where it is optional. Central-station plans are among the cheapest line items in the whole system, and an insurer is likely to ask about them. We cover how security features affect premiums in our breakdown of dispensary insurance cost.
Cloud video storage or an on-site recorder?
Both are legal in most states, and many stores end up with both. An on-site network video recorder is the cheapest way to hold 60 or 90 days of continuous footage, because the storage is a one-time purchase of drives. Its weakness is that the evidence lives in the same building as the incident. Cloud storage survives a break-in or a fire and lets an owner review footage from anywhere, but it is billed monthly per camera and the long retention periods cannabis requires are exactly where cloud pricing climbs.
Oregon settles the question for its licensees by requiring a real-time off-site backup of the surveillance room itself. Illinois requires a live portal regulators can open. Elsewhere, a hybrid is the common answer: full retention on site, a shorter rolling window in the cloud for the cameras that matter most, which are usually the vault and the registers. If your team already runs off-the-shelf cameras, modern cloud video surveillance can sit on top of them, which is worth pricing before you replace working hardware.
Where a directory listing fits, and where it does not
A security system protects the license. It will not bring a single customer through the door, and no one should sell it to you as if it does. It is part of the fixed cost of being allowed to operate, the same as your cannabis inventory software and Metrc fees, and it belongs in the opening budget we lay out on our page about the cost to open a dispensary.
The revenue side is separate and far smaller. Adults looking for a licensed shop nearby pick from the stores whose menus, hours and deals they can actually see. A claimed, license-verified listing on Dispensaries puts your shop in that choice for a published $99 a month, flat, with no cut of your sales. The details are on our page about listing your dispensary.
Questions owners ask
Cannabis security system, answered
Keep reading
More for licensed dispensary owners
Dispensary security cameras cost
How many cameras a store needs and what the storage for your state really costs.
Read moreCost to open a dispensary
Where security sits in the opening budget, with license fees by state.
Read moreDispensary insurance cost
What coverage costs and how security features change the quote.
Read moreCannabis inventory software
The other compliance bill: Metrc fees by state and the platforms that write to it.
Read moreDispensary license
Which states are issuing licenses, and how the security plan fits the application.
Read moreList your dispensary
A verified licensed listing with published pricing from $99 a month.
Read moreDispensary listing prices
Listed, Featured and Market Leader, with published monthly prices in USD.
See pricingGet your licensed shop in front of buyers near you.
Claim a verified listing, publish your menu and daily deals, and show up when adults in your area go looking for a dispensary. Listed is $99 a month, and you can cancel anytime.
State-licensed dispensaries only · 21+ · Dispensaries is a directory and ad platform, we never sell, ship or process cannabis orders · cannabis laws vary, check your local laws · general information, not legal advice